End of Year "Roll Over"

What should teachers do at the end of the year to prepare for the next year's classes?

Teachers have a number of options but this is the one most often followed on the WeLCom site.

1. Backup you course.
First "Backup" your course and download a copy of the backup file produced. (It is a zipped file, click on the name of the file and select "Save". It might be a good idea to rename this file so that you can recognise it easily - if you ever want to restore the course later)

2. Remove your current students.
Once you have finished with your course for the year you can remove your students by clicking "Assign Roles" in the Admin block.
  • Click Assign Roles
  • Click Students
  • Select all the students that you want to remove. (Use "ctrl click" to multi select or "shift click" to select all between the first and last selection)
  • Click Remove
cool Note: You wont lose any of the student data. If you reassign an ex-student to your course then all their activity/grades/feedback will be accessible.

3. Assign your new students.
  • Click Assign Roles
  • Click Students
  • Use the Search (lower right) to find your individual students or school year group (On WeLCom you can filter out a year group by typing the first letter of the school followed by a two digit number for the year that they entered secondary school e.g. D06 would be DHS students who entered Y9 in 2006 - they would be the Y13s in 2010.
    • So for 2010
      S12 = SC Y7
      C11 = CC Y8
      D10 = DHS Y9
      R09 = RC Y10
      M08 = MC Y11
      K07 = KC Y12
      T06 = TC Y13
  • Select the student(s) by clicking on their names
  • Click Add
You should be ready to run with your course for your next group.